Yule, Krampus, and Christmas Witching

Image

The frost cometh!

It’s been a while since I’ve been on WP, and I really should remedy that. So, some updates:

  • I am now a full time witch and hausfrau, which means more time to devote to art, custom orders, and general slacking off.
  • I got married! It was cold and rainy and perfect.
  • There is new stuff in the shop, including tinctures and gift sets (perfect for holiday treats) of bath salts, incense, and body scrub!

So, let’s talk about this impending holiday season, shall we? [personal note: I don’t really do the Turkey Day thing because I don’t care to celebrate the oppressive mythology of this country’s founding. so we go straight from Spookytime to Wintertime] Recently I’ve been looking into different winter spirits and deities from Germanic and British folk belief, and there is just a delightful assortment of characters and different permutations of gods and saints. My favorite, which I knew of before, still have to be Krampus and Perchta/Hulda. The latter could be considered two separate entities, but in my personal view it is more like two sides of the same figure. I also relate her to Scotland’s Cailleach Beara, England’s Black Annis, and Ireland’s Grian, although the Celtic stories are usually more dualistic in their seasonal approach than some Germanic.

A couple of new figures I had not heard of before: Belsnickel, similar to Krampus but a lot less monstrous, who comes a few weeks before Father Christmas in order to punish the naughty children and make sure everyone’s in line. And an Italian figure called Befana, known as the Christmas Witch, who got lost on her way to the Christ child and is still wandering today, giving gifts to kind children. I absolutely love seeing all of the diverse figures associated with the winter months. The chill winds and cold weather bring out an interesting side to storytelling.

This year’s challenge: to find a Paleo recipe for Lebkuchen! If you know one, hit me up. All of the one’s I’ve found online have been for the Jewish honeycake version and not the gingerbread kind. Hopefully our Yuletide dinner party will go well — even though we are renting, it’s our first year in our own place together, and our first year of being married! Yay memory making. Now if I could just get the dishes done before New Year’s. . . [which, consequently, I don’t celebrate either].

Our winter traditions include:

  • the yearly tea party/dinner
  • hot cider, because fuck yeah
  • gift giving
  • lots of candles and lights
  • we have a tiny purple tree I found at the thrift store and it’s perfect and purple.
  • this year I hope to do a thing where we stay up late to greet the dawn on the solstice
  • and storytelling!

Then of course we’ll go to my (Baptist) parents’ house on the 22nd and do it all again!

I’d love to hear some of your own personal or ancestral winter traditions!

PS: speaking of winter fun — the shop is having a sale, now through January 1st — 35% off all orders over $10. Just enter the code YULE35 at checkout.

Comments

